IMG_2709

Guess what, guys!

It’s graduation seasons, which means in these next few weeks 17-19 year olds will be graduating from high school and starting there last summer until the great unknown of college begins. I’m lucky enough to be on the other side of that great unknown and I think I have picked up a few pointers for those still going through it. The thing is, I wasn’t really expecting to see my youngest brother, an 17 year old himself, struggling with the thought that comes after senior year.

I picked him up from a friends house tonight and he just seemed off. After some clever prodding at his usually refusal to talk about what’s bothering him, he exposed the fact that he is scared for this next year. He will be a senior, and trying to navigate what is expected of him now can be kind of terrifying.

I remember being exactly where he is. I struggled with the thought of saying goodbye to people who I would probably never see after that fateful day we walked the stage and received our diplomas. The worst part was learning to accept that some of the people you think are such great friends of yours turn out to be great friends just when you spend 8 hours a day with them, 5 days a week.

I guess I just want to remind you guys that if you know people who are about to graduate high school or are entering into their last year, make sure they know that they are not going to be alone with it. Life is going to be changing pretty fast for them and not everyone is able to accept the fact that some things you can’t stop from happening. They’re going to be a little scared. They’re going to be excited. Most of all, they’re going to be looking for some sort of guidance from those who have gone through this already.

I am so glad that I got to have that talk with my not-so-little bro. I value my relationships with all three of my brothers so much and I’m glad he trusts me enough to let me in and tell me that he’s worried. I just wanted him to know that all the little things that are going to be happening this year are not impossible to handle, but that he can’t spend all his time worrying about it because he’ll end up missing some amazing moments.

For all of you who are graduating this year, I am so excited for you. You have so much ahead of you that most likely you can’t even imagine. Don’t worry too much, most of us “adults” are just big kids playing the part. We are just as lost as you sometimes, we’ve just walked the road you’re on a little bit ahead of you and can warn you of a few potholes… and make you figure some of them out on your own.

It’s going to be okay. Things are going to change.

Leave a Reply

