We’re all a work in progress…

What would you do if you knew you could change your past? Would you jump at the chance to go back and undo that thing  that you have spent the last six years trying to forget? Would you warn yourself against some unavoidable change in your life? Or would you refuse this chance to go back.

I’m a firm believer that we all have something in our lives that we wish we had done differently. They may not all be full-fledged regrets, but we all have something. For me, there are a few things that I wish I had handled differently. A few people I wish I had seen the true sides of a little bit sooner. A few moments that I wish didn’t have to have happened. But most of all I wish I had loved myself back then. I know just how true it is that we are our own worst critic, I’ve lived with it for longer than anyone needs to. That inner critic has convinced me more times than I would like to admit that I’m not good enough and that people in my life would be better off without me.

After years of living with this inner critic, I’ve finally come around to see through that mirror inside me. I am more than any mistake that I have made in my past. I am more than the labels that others place upon me. And most importantly, I am worthy of love and I will love myself. I am. I am. I am.

We are all works in progress; we are all constantly getting a little bit closer to the person we truly see ourselves as. We are all in this together. Figuring out where we are going in life is something that we have been trained to do since middle school: always being pushed to find a career that will make us successful… but in the eyes of who?

Sitting where I am today, I am so relieved to be where I am. No longer do I focus on the things that the media and society tells me that I have to do or have to be. Success isn’t something that can be measured in a way that is equal to every human being. Today, success for me is the fact that I can write the words “I am worthy of love.” For someone else, success could be just making it through another day.

This may be a little different than what most people would expect as a first blog post, but this is the start of my story. It’s a work in progress. We’re all figuring it out as we go along.

Leave a Reply

